Wednesday, September 27, 2023

Fan Nominations Open for 2022 Poker Hall of Fame Class

Must Read


2022 poker hall of fame

Is it finally the year Matt Savage will get over the hump and into the Poker Hall of Fame? What about perennial candidate Mike Matusow? Or, will a first-time-eligible player like Brian Rast join the exclusive club?

Starting now, fans can nominate an eligible player or industry personnel for the 2022 Poker Hall of Fame. Up until June 19, you can go to the WSOP website to nominate the person of your choice. It only takes a minute and each individual can only vote once.

Who is Eligible?

When the fan vote concludes, the WSOP will send the top 10 nominees to the current members of the Poker HOF, who will then vote on the most worthy candidate. On July 10, during the WSOP Main Event, one, and only one, winner will be announced.

The criteria required for induction, which should be taken into consideration during the nomination process, is as follows:

  • Must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40-years-old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes, consistently well and stood the test of time
  • For non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results

Last year’s fan nominees were Savage, Matusow, Antonio Esfandiari, Layne Flack, Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier, Ted Forrest, Michael Mizrachi, Isai Scheinberg, Chris Ferguson, and Eli Elezra.

Elezra, the Israeli four-time World Series of Poker bracelet winner, was selected as the 2021 Poker Hall of Fame inductee. The nine individuals who didn’t quite make the cut in 2021 are eligible again this year.

Potential Newcomers

Brian Rast

There are a few players who turned the required age 40 to become eligible since last year’s WSOP. The short list of potential new candidates include Rast, Anthony Zinno, and Steve O’Dwyer.

O’Dwyer has been one of the top high stakes tournament crushers for years and has over $31 million lifetime in live tournaments according to Hendon Mob. Rast is a five-time WSOP bracelet winner and considered one of the top high stakes cash game players, especially in mixed games. He also won the inaugural $500,000 buy-in Super High Roller Bowl in 2015 for $7.5 million.

Zinno is also an interesting case given his success both in WSOP and World Poker Tour events. The Boston native is the only player in history with four WSOP bracelets and three WPT titles.

During the 2021 WSOP, Rast told PokerNews he not only believes he deserves induction into the Poker Hall of Fame, but is passionate about getting in soon.

“If people vote fairly next year, I think I’ll make it in,” Rast said last fall.

Assessing the Veterans

Matt Savage

The same list of players and industry personnel who missed out last year are eligible again, and will likely receive numerous votes this year. Other potential veteran candidates include long-time WSOP announcers Lon McEachern and Norman Chad, and Allen Cunningham.

During the 2021 WSOP, Savage made his case for the Hall of Fame. The WPT Executive Tour Director has come close a number of times.

Savage, along with Rast, is a proponent of multiple inductions per year, which the Poker Hall of Fame did in the past. But that’s a topic of discussion for another day.

Current Members of the Poker Hall of Fame

Member Year Member Year Member Year
Tom Abdo 1982 Barry Greenstein 2011 Johnny Moss 1979
Crandell Addington 2005 Jennifer Harman 2015 Daniel Negreanu 2014
Bobby Baldwin 2003 Dan Harrington 2010 Scotty Nguyen 2013
Billy Baxter 2006 Murph Harrold 1984 David Oppenheim 2019
Lyle Berman 2002 Phil Hellmuth 2007 Henry Orenstein 2008
Joe Bernstein 1983 John Hennigan 2018 Walter “Puggy” Pearson 1987
Benny Binion 1990 James Butler “Wild Bill” Hickok 1979 Julius Oral Popwell 1996
Jack Binion 2005 Red Hodges 1985 Thomas Austin “Amarillo Slim” Preston 1992
Bill Boyd 1981 Edmond Hoyle 1979 David “Chip” Reese 1991
Doyle Brunson 1988 Phil Ivey 2017 Brian “Sailor” Roberts 2012
Todd Brunson 2016 Linda Johnson 2011 Huck Seed 2020
Johnny Chan 2002 Berry Johnston 2004 Erik Seidel 2010
T.J. Cloutier 2006 John Juanda 2015 Mike Sexton 2009
Nick Dandolos 1979 Jack Keller 1993 Jack “Treetop” Straus 1988
Eric Drache 2012 Jack McClelland 2014 Dewey Tomko 2008
Barbara Enright 2007 Felton McCorquodale 1979 David “Devilfish” Ulliott 2017
Mori Eskandani 2018 Tom McEvoy 2013 Stu Ungar 2001
Fred “Sarge” Ferris 1989 Chris Moneymaker 2019 Red Winn 1979
Henry Green 1986 Roger Moore 1997 Sid Wyman 1979
T “Blondie” Forbes 1980 Carlos Mortensen 2016 Eli Elezra 2021
2022 World Series of Poker Hub

Bookmark this page! All you need to know about the 2022 WSOP is here.


Source link

Cryptoultimatum Crypto Trading Signal Service


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

I show You how To Make Huge Profits In A Short Time With Cryptos!
- Advertisement -

More Articles Like This